College Life

IMG_2970

College, a transition from the teenage years to adulthood.

As I wrap up my first semester of college, I realized that I hadn’t updated my blog since my high school graduation. Let me get you up to speed on college life and how it’s been treating me.

IMG_2643

Unlike almost everyone I know, I did not have to take an insane amount of entrance exams or even the SATs. In fact, I was in the middle of taking a Gap Year when one of my parent’s good friends, Tita Cherry, told them about a college in Quezon City that was offering scholarships to creative people. That college was Thames International.

At the time, I didn’t know what I wanted. A part of me wanted to pack my things and take up college in the States, at places like San Francisco State, Stanford, or even somewhere on the east coast. And another part of me wanted to study in the Philippines, either at University of the Philippines, La Salle, or Ateneo. But there was that small part of me that wanted to see what Thames International was all about.

So not even half way into my gap year, we took a chance and set a meeting with Thames.

After seeing the school and all that it had to offer, I underwent meetings, interviews, and took the entrance exam. This had to have been one of the most stressful times of my life. I spent endless nights questioning myself and my capabilities. Was I good enough for the school? Was I Thames material?

IMG_2645

I got the answer on October 18, 2018. I was sitting on the bleachers at my brother’s basketball practice when I received an email…

 

IMG_4633

Words cannot describe what I was feeling as I was reading this. This was a moment that changed my life forever.

Within seconds, my parents (Dad Nic and Mom Mafae), who were at the airport about to board their flight to the States, called me screaming into the phone. I called my mom (Mom Kat) and she did the same. I could feel their happiness despite the distance. And that made it all the more memorable.

On November 19, 2018, I took the first step into the next chapter of my life: my first day as a college student. Though technically, my second day was more of my first day because both of my classes were cancelled on Monday. It was a whole new experience for me. Transitioning from homeschooling to a college setting wasn’t easy, but I took it as a challenge and actually started enjoying it.

IMG_2646

Within weeks I made friends, learned a ton of new things, and started taking a new form of transportation: motorcycle. Shoutout to our family helper’s husband, Kuya Dexter for taking me to and dropping me off at school. Riding a motorcycle is no joke. I’m not going to lie, it was pretty scary the first couple of times. But at the same time, it was exhilarating. I actually looked forward to riding to school every morning because it was a whole lot faster by bike, not to mention a whole lot more fun.

img_3060.png

Being an ICE scholar at Thames is a huge honor.

Being given a scholarship in general is life changing, but to be given one by award winning, internationally acclaimed, Black Eyed Peas member, Apl De Ap, is unbelievable. I have met Apl several times in San Francisco and LA, but never in a thousand years would I have thought that he’d be playing a huge role in my college education. Thank you so much, Apl!

IMG_2968

I’d also like to thank Sir Joel Santos and everyone at Thames for being so welcoming!

Thank you to Tita Cherry for making all of it possible.

Thank you to my friends and family all over the world who have given me nothing but love and support from the start.

And lastly, thank you to my parents for believing me. I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it weren’t for all three of you. I love you all more than words can describe.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset

I’ll end this post by introducing you with my school’s philosophy:

Novus Ordus. A New Order.

Thames International is committed to develop a new order of business professionals, enlivened by a vibrant entrepreneurial spirit, possessing the skills, knowledge and attitude that reflect the best of human values to work toward a just and more equitable society.

 

Photos by Jun De Leon, Danica Bacalangco, and Moses Belasco

One response to “College Life

  1. Hey Nico! This was really fun to read, and congrats on getting accepted as a scholar! If you remember, I was the girl who went up the elevator with you papunta sa Pizza Party Pare HAHA. I didn’t know that you’d just entered college a few days before we met!

    Also, I hope you write a post about the challenges you faced transitioning from homeschool to college life, as well as tips for fellow homeschoolers who are about to enter university 🙂 This September kasi, I’ll be entering the American University of Armenia (still waiting to get accepted though, but I’m in faith I’ll get in haha), and I need all the advice I can get! 😀 Thank you so much bro, and God bless!

    Like

Leave a comment